This track comes off the 1978 release Cochin Moon, which gives composer credit to Haruomi Hosono. The idea for the album came after Hosono returned from a trip to India and was inspired to make an album that captured the luxury and exotic character of the country. Looking at the liner notes, contributors included Hiroshi Sato, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Hideki Matsutake, Tadanori Yokoo, and Shuka Nishihara––people who, if you know your Japanese music history, are all pretty big deals.

Shuka Nishihara was an alter-ego for Hosono, himself. Tadanori Yokoo was a pop-artist active throughout the early-70s; he was responsible for the Bollywood-inspired cover art. Hiroshi Sato was a gifted producer and also released some great funk under his own name (you can check out a track from an album he produced with Wendy Matthews here). Ryuchi Sakamoto and Hideki Matsutake, along with Hosono, would go on to form Yellow Magic Orchestra, a pioneering band in the world of techno pop (check out YMO’s “Rydeen” here).

Though this album finds these musicians at the start of their careers (save for Hosono, who played bass in the garage rock band The Apryl Fool circa 1969), the album carries strong elements of the funk and electronica that they would go on to produce, albeit in a more experimental setting. If you can find it, I definitely recommend checking out the whole album.



Hey, don't be a jerk on the internet.