About

Table of Contents

  1. About WNUR
  2. Contact WNUR
  3. About WNUR.org
  4. WNUR Exec
  5. Management
  6. Programming
  7. On Twitter

About WNUR

WNUR is a non-commercial, listener-supported radio station broadcasting at a frequency of 89.3 MHz FM and a power of 7200 watts. The WNUR studios are located in Louis Hall, on the campus of Northwestern University in Evanston, IL, and the station produces a signal that can be heard by nearly 3 million potential listeners throughout Chicagoland. WNUR also streams on the Web to listeners around the world. WNUR is licensed to Northwestern University and its operations are subject to the authority and oversight of Northwestern University’s Board of Trustees and its Officers.

Through its programming, WNUR strives to provide a forum for underrepresented music and ideas. By pursuing the cultural, intellectual, and artistic aspects of radio, WNUR promotes musicians, musical genres, news, public affairs issues, and athletic events often overlooked by major media outlets. Additionally, because it is completely independent of commercial pressures, WNUR has the opportunity to provide unique and challenging programming to the Northwestern, Evanston, and Chicago communities no matter how unpopular or controversial.

Although WNUR is student-run, its roster of DJs comprises both students and members of the WNUR community.

WNUR Contact Information

To send comments about the station to WNUR station management please email comments@wnur.org or send written comments to our Postal Mail address.

Please send all physical releases (CDs, LPs, Cassettes, MP3s, MDs, DATs, or anything else) to the address below. Include “Attn: [genre of music]” to ensure it gets to the right person.

Digital releases are left to the discretion of the individual music directors and producers. Email addresses for those shows are given below.

Postal Mail
WNUR 89.3 FM
1877 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208

Live On-Air Performances
Check out Airplay for info about live music on WNUR. If you’re interested in performing on WNUR, email the Airplay gang at airplay@wnur.org.

In-Studio Contact Info
WNUR takes requests (depending what it is)! You can contact our DJ’s in-studio by telephone or via the chat box in our pop-out player.
Phone: (847) 866-WNUR (9687)

Additional Phone Numbers
General Business Office
(847) 491-7102

For label or artist inquiries please email the appropriate Program Producer or Director below.

WNUR Adviser
As a student-run organization, WNUR is advised by Phil Scepanski, a faculty member at Northwestern University’s School of Communications. Phil can be reached at adviser@wnur.org.

About WNUR.org

Contributing writers
Gillian Levy
Denise Lu
Soren Nelson
Ethan Simonoff

Our website staff can be reached at webmaster@wnur.org.

WNUR Executive Board

WNUR’s Executive Board is responsible for managing the operations and programming of WNUR, subject to oversight by the University’s Officers and Board of Trustees, across both its terrestrial and online presences. All members of WNUR Exec are current students at Northwestern University.

This year, the members of WNUR Exec are:

MANAGEMENT:

General Manager
For general inquiries about the station, contact
Brian Campbell
gm@wnur.org

Programming Director
Jay Smith
pd@wnur.org

Operations Director
Ed Ingerman
operations@wnur.org

Business Manager
Kim Tunney
business@wnur.org

Event Chair
Jessica Peng
events@wnur.org

Promotions Chair
Tunde Kelani
outreach@wnur.org

Phoneathon Director
An Phung
phoneathon@wnur.org

Publicity & Marketing Chairs
Bridget Illing & Ramona Roy
publicity@wnur.org

Traffic Director
For matters regarding public service announcements (PSAs), contact
Steve Seong
traffic@wnur.org

Web Editor
Anna Selonick
editor@wnur.org

News Director
For matters regarding press releases, contact
Alli Shapiro
news@wnur.org

WNUR Sports Directors
Greg Mroz & Cameron Songer
wnursports@gmail.com

 

PROGRAMMING:

Continental Drift Producer
Claire Carson & Serene Darwish
drift@wnur.org

Freeform Producer
Jamie Lee Cortese
freeform@wnur.org

Jazz Music Director
Will Conroy
jazz-md@wnur.org

Rock Executive Board
Stephen Antonoplis, Jenna Powell-Malloy, Maddie Higgins, Camille Michelotti
rock@wnur.org

Streetbeat Executive Board
Lucas Messore, Sam Sullivan, Edrick Chu
streetbeat@wnur.org

Weekend Producer
Emai Cepeda
weekend@wnur.org

On Twitter

In addition to WNUR’s official station profile, many of WNUR’s shows also maintain Twitter accounts. These are:
Airplay
Continental Drift
Folk
The Rock Show
Scope Radio
Streetbeat
This is Hell
WNUR Sports